I remember…….

I remember ………..

…… When My  clothes had to have logos on them. You had to rock them like that because that showed you had the real stuff and were fresh to def. No logos? Well that meant you probably got your stuff from a place like Value City (and I’m not talking about the furniture store)……Who remembers that?

…..Eating McDonalds for dinner was a privilege.  I wasn’t eating it ALL THE TIME (like some kids). It was occasional and usually on Friday’s when mom didn’t feel like cooking fish. Anybody else’s mom always cook seafood on Friday nights?

……I knew all the kids on the block and their parents. Now it seems like kids don’t go out and play or know other kids.

……the first time I saw a p.o.r.n.o flick. It was Vanessa Del.Rio and yeah well……

……my mom’s couch was never the same after that………

……returning VHS movies and seeing that damn sign say “Be kind. Rewind”

……going on that school trip and walking with my arm around her the whole time like “yeah she’s mine”……..

……going to the Y for day camp in the summer and eating nasty bologna sandwiches with those little apple juices in the carton……

…….hanging around white boys and listening to Bon J.ov.i (wooooooo oooooooooh, she’s living on a Praayyyyer!!!)…WHA?!?!

……riding on the subway and seeing Dr. Zizmor ads

…….when rappers boasted about having Jettas, and LandCruisers…….

……going away to college and coming home my first summer and thinking damn….nothing’s changed…….

……going away to college and coming home my SENIOR year and thinking……damn……nothing’s changed……….

……living away and coming home years after I graduated and thinking……..damn…..sh*t…..nothing’s changed……

……arguing with one of my boy’s I grew up with because he said I changed since I went to college……(he was right. I just didn’t see it or accept it at the time)

……late nights at school, drinking, talking smack with my boys and chicks wondering what life would be like…….

…….thinking that my girlfriend in college would one day be my wife……..

……thinking that I was crazy thinking the previous thought because that chick was crazy……..

……realizing that it was some of the things I did that made her crazy…….

……calling her to apologize……..

…….some of the things that happened in college………

…….vowing to never EVER mention them in public 😉

…….when I got my first apartment.

……thinking I was the shit.

…….showing up for work my first day thinking corporate america was cool……

…….a valuable meeting with an African American executive who quickly dismissed that previous thought and said “this shit is a game. Either you play it or get played”

…….never EVER forgetting those words. EVER.

I remember a lot more….but this is getting long.  What do you remember?

By the way, Rest in Peace to Joh.n Hugh.es – creator of the classic teen movies that I remember watching while growing up.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on August 7, 2009.

9 Responses to “I remember…….”

  1. * THANKS Dr. Zizmor!
    * WHAT?!?!? I love me some Bon Jovi.

    And yes…I loved John Hughes movies. 16 Candles is one of my alltime favorites. No more yanky on my wanky!

  2. I remember the opening scene of MC Lyte’s “Paper Thin” video when the crew rolls up to the subway station in fly Jetta’s! I wanted one for the longest time after that! Watched “The Breakfast Club” last night. Good memories Fresh!

  3. Yes every friday it was fish and if we had mcdonald’s we had fish sandwiches LOL..

    me like bon jovi too.. 🙂

    Man the memories 🙂 cherish them fresh… I loved John Hughes.. FERRIS BUELLERS DAY OFF… enough said LOL

  4. Fresh, sounds like your becoming melancholy with the b-day coming up. It’s cool. Shout out to Kings County! And sadly, sh*t ain’t changed but you have.

  5. Happy birthday youngun.

  6. Happy Birthday, Fresh!

  7. I remember buying Slush Puppies from K-Mart.
    I remember having “school clothes” and “play clothes”.

    Happy belated birthday!! Hope you enjoyed it.

  8. MAAAAN you brought back a few memories…

    I remember watchign He-Man and She-Ra cartoons

    I remember the old tvs when you had to turn the dial to change the channel..there was no such thing as a remote…LOL now thinking of it what was the “U” for?

    Happy Birthday Fresh!

  9. I remember…

    …helping my mom cleaning the house on saturday morning while “sweet thing” was playing on the radio.

    … believing the rebook pumps would actually make my jump higher if I would pump them hard enough.

    … staying up to watch In Living Color, followed by the premier of the Michael Jackson video

    … waking up early on saturday mornings to watch G.I. Joe, Thundercats, Silver Hawks, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and X-men.

    … Fresh blogging more regularly!!!!!! miss you homie!

Leave a Reply

 
