Do I Have To?

*sigh* Do I have to?  The B.E.T Awards 2009……

My thoughts….

* I played basketball this weekend for the first time in about a year. Half way through the game, my ass was tired, gasping for air. I quickly realized it’s not the same as running outside or the treadmill. Where am I going with this?

Well, if I’m tired after a year break, then why the hell would I think my ass wouldn’t be tired after a 5-10 year break on stage? Do you really think you can sing legendary songs in the same key and dance at the same time when you haven’t done a thing athletic in years? C’mon son…be real. And oh yeah Bobby, keep your tongue in your mouth.

* When you win an award, YOU win the award. Not your cousin Pookie. Not Ray-Ray. Leave them in their seats. The only person you’re allowed to bring up is your kids and even then, there should be a limit.

* There is no way….absolutely NO way….you should get outshined on your own song. If the song is on your album and you have a duet/guest singer, you need to make sure you bring it and keep that person in the “guest” role….Ya feel me Key Key?

* I’m going straight to hell for the thoughts I was having while Mary Mary was performing……..

* Alicia Keys – man. Listen. If you thought my Mary Mary thoughts were bad…..Geeeesssssssh.

* Best speech goes to Wyclef ……..”I come from a hut….from a hut, I went to the projects….from the projects I went to a mansion….So you out there…you have absolutely NO EXCUSE”

* How many times did Jamie Foxx say  “are we on….are we ready?”

* I’ve never seen so many people LOOK like they’re reading from a teleprompter.

* Don Cornelius is still talking about the O’Jays……I got mad love for him but he was talking slooooooooooooow. The O’Jays tribute was on point. Youngsters better take not. Those dudes were working it.

* T-Pain. No words. Ving Rhames. No words. Little girls with Drake and Weezy. No words.  Frankie and Neffie. Tiny and  Toya. No words. No breath. No watch.

* Brooklyn held it down. Maxwell and Jay-z.

I went to bed remixing Death of the Auto.tune…..Death of B.E.T

Na na na na, eh eh eh….Good bye…..

Only  show so far to pay homage to the king
Stephen Hill, Debra Lee, it was disappointing….
This is anti- BET
Death of a station
It’s not for grown folk
It’s pure excretion…..

Where was the  tribute? I mean I know you only had 2-3 days but surely you can make a powerful video tribute in that time? It felt like a high school talent show with very little talent. I recognized how many people are purely studio artists. They can’t sing or perform live. They can’t dance and sing. You know why Mike was just a legend? It’s not because his music was good. It’s because when he performed live at a show or concert, it was an amazing event because he worked hard and appreciated his craft and he knew that people paid their money to see a performance.  2-3 days. C’mon, if they are true artists, they can adjust on the fly.  I would have told Ciara to put down the mic and join Chris Brown, Usher, Ginuwine, all of these people that can dance and move, put together a dance routine to honor Mike. Let the singers sing. We had a chance to shine. The ball was in our court. We dropped it and turned it over…….

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on June 29, 2009.

5 Responses to “Do I Have To?”

  1. The show was beyond disappointing. It really was our moment to pay tribute to MJ and we failed miserably.

    As a whole, the show production was bootleg. The award nominees were read out loud for one category, best female. Everything else was just an award.

    Having Lt. Uhuru in the bathroom?

    Young tween girls on stage grinding while Drake and Weezy performed talking about all the girls they have f*cked.

    All of the upcoming BET lineup? HORRIBLE.

    We couldn’t get a video montage of MJ? A special dance tribute with Breezy, Usher, Ciara, Ginuwine, Justin, Keri Hilson, etc? I think each artist performing should have sung an MJ song. Why? Cause Maxwell would have killed Butterflies. (Well, that’s just my personal preference…LOL)

    We couldn’t get Quincy Jones, Berry Gordy, Diana Ross, Stevie Wonder….no real friends on camera speaking about him? No, we had to hear Johnny Gill talking about MJ liked his jacket. *sigh*

    Let’s hope the Grammy’s steps it up.

  2. I want you to record Death of B.E.T. like TODAY!!
    Geez, 4 wasted hours that we can’t get back!

  3. Yeah, it was a mess. Forget dropping the ball, we pretty much just forfeited the game altogether. That wasn’t even a real effort.
    I can’t wait to see what Aaron McGruder does with this.

  4. I didn’t get to see it but God knows it will be a re-run for the next 3-4 months so I’ll definitely have to see this hot mess to really believe it was ‘that bad’ LOL. As far as I’m concerned, BET dropped the ball a long time ago..like back in 2000.

  5. I didn’t need to see it to know it would be a huge pile of disappointment. BET getting something right? Please. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

 
