When it doesn’t feel right….

I’m not psychic. I never took a class from Ms. Cleo (call me now!).

I’m not related to D.ionne War.wick. Nope.

But I do and have learned to trust my instincts and intuition.

See Fresh quit his job 2 months ago to pursue another opportunity. I felt like it was time and it was the right thing to do.  Well since then, word has gotten out all the way to my previous employer’s competitor and they have proceeded to come at me, HARD. At first it was cool. I felt like my talents were being recognized and appreciated.

But after a series of events over the last couple of days, my third eye is wide open and it just doesn’t feel right and driving the other morning, I came to this realization that I need to pull myself out of the running. 

I wanted to cop out and send an email instead of calling, but I hate when that crap is done to me. It’s like people can’t say stuff to your face no more. Who the hell wants to get a letter in the mail or an email saying that you didn’t get the job?!?! Use the phone damnit!!!!

I take pride in the fact that they’re pursuing me like this and the money could be right and the flexibility could be ok but something inside me said to let it go. Let it go Fresh. This one isn’t for you and you’re only faking the excitement.  It’s not what you REALLY want. Even with the short term gratification, it could have long term effects. Taking this opportunity would  sort of be like me throwing in the white flag on what I’m doing now.  Taking this opportunity could potentially ruin a reputation that took years to build.  I made a promise to myself and simply proceeding with this opportunity would make me a liar.

Sometimes things look so good at face value. That woman seems perfect. That job seems ideal. Those shoes are hot. But once you sit down and really really dig into it, you see that those hot shoes hurt your feet, that job works your ass to death and that woman, well, that’s another story. People don’t listen to their gut no more. They give their friends top priority. “Well my boy said such and such” Well, he’s not you.  If your gut tells you no, it’s usually a good sign that somethings not right. Trust your instincts.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on October 15, 2008.

5 Responses to “When it doesn’t feel right….”

  1. CHUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCH.. yessir.. and I can say this.. I’ve been listening to my GUT alot lately and it’s OK 😉

    umm we still have to get up lol..

  2. Let the church say Amen!

  3. Very true. And good luck.

  4. True indeed. Good luck with your new direction Fresh.

  5. Yep, people don’t follow their instincts nearly enough. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

 
