1,2,3,4,5……6 things.

I was tagged by Roycee for some six things stuffage because I opened my damn mouth or was it that she was pissed because Sixty tagged her so she’s taking it out us innocent folk.

I’m actually going to put a bit of a twist on this. I’m going to focus on young black men.

Anyway, here we go:

1. Post these rules before presenting your list.
2. List 6 actions or achievements you think every person should accomplish before turning 18.
3. There are no conditions on what can be included on the list.
4. At the end of your blog, choose 6 people to get tagged and list their names.
5. People who are tagged write their own blog entry with their 6 suggestions.

6. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged.

#1Get a mentor.

Let’s be real here. It’s rough out there for everyone but when you’re a young black man growing up in America, it’s even worse. There are negative influences and negative images of African American men all over the place. Go turn on a music video and you’ll see quite a few. There are households with no men in them at all. So it’s tough. Go find a role model. Find someone who is older and maybe has shared similar experiences that can help guide you through those times in life. And you don’t have to wait for them to ask you. You can seek them out. My baseball coach was mine for a time. Then I found someone else. Then someone after that. Each person has had an effect on my life in some way shape or form. I’ve been a mentor a few times and it’s not just hanging out and going to the movies. It’s being on the other end of the phone and turning to someone when you need them. It’s nice having someone to smack sense into you when needed.

#2 – Learn how to walk away. Learn how to say ‘NO’.

You will get tested. Trust me. Someday, somewhere, someone is going to test you. They are going to push your buttons. They are going to get under your skin. You don’t have to beat someone’s ass to a pulp every single time (I can’t lie here, you MAY have to put the smack down on at least one person but that’s your free pass). I’m not saying be a punk here. I’m just saying that nowadays these cats want to flash guns instead of using their brains. If the situation isn’t right, If the crowd seems off, just walk away. Leave. There’s far too many kids getting caught up early. Respect your life.
#3 – Learn about money.

Sixty said it. Roycee said it. It’s probably a common theme about the savings account. Investing is good but overall, learn about money. The credit card industry is waiting for you with open arms for you to turn 18 because now, they flash that credit card in your face and next thing you know, you’re 30K in debt. Learn the fundamentals. Investing, interest rates, how to save and not just get by (cause my mom taught me how to get by and stretch a damn paycheck). The people who get taken advantage of are the ones who don’t understand. Which brings me to #4

#4 – Get your Education

No matter what, stay in school. Get your high school diploma. Move on to college. Don’t take your education for granted. Learn outside of school. Learn money as I mentioned. Read books. Watch shows other than music videos. A black man with an education is dangerous (in a good way). Go to college and my suggestion, is to leave home. Even if you go to a school in your home area, don’t stay at home if at all possible. Live on campus. Going away to school was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

#5 – Wrap It Up Every Single Time.

Impossible ?*Deep breath* You got some confidence, a little swag and some game. Your hormones are off the charts and you’re looking at “him” every morning. All I can really say is when you’re having sex, protect yourself. It’s about more than just getting a woman pregnant. It’s about these damn diseases. You don’t want to walk around with some shriveled up nutsacks or burning when you gotta pee. Then everyone in the high school will have nicknames for you like One Nut Billy or Shrivel Sam sounding like damn G.arbage Pail Kids. And you damn sure don’t want the doctor poking your stuff, so hit the store, invest in some latex, lambskin, saran wrap, something.

#6 – Man Up.

Own some clothes that actually fit, pull up your damn pants, (how do you possibly reach for something in your pocket when they are down at your ankles?!?!) get a smaller shirt size, own a suit, learn how to tie a tie, learn how to keep yourself ‘maintained’. Do you know how many kids come in here for internships looking like they walked off the set of a rap video?!?!? Learn how to speak and when to use the right speech. Ya’mean is only a word with your peoples. When you can speak and articulate a thought clearly, people will give you their attention? (read: O.bama), get some damn manners, say Thank You, Excuse Me, Sorry, hold the door open for women, let women get out or on the elevator first (this one right there irks the sh*t out of me….it’s funny…sometimes the response I get when I hold the door or elevator, they look at me like I’m an alien…wtf?!?!?)

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on February 21, 2008.

19 Responses to “1,2,3,4,5……6 things.”

  1. Again, prolific. (Going to thesaurus for a new word).

    One Nut Billy…No you didn’t! LOL

  2. #2. I really don’t have a problem with that; 1) I have very little money; 2) I wouldn’t even consider using a credit card unless I really didn’t have it and really needed it

    #4. kind of disagree, but I feel where you’re coming from.

    #6. Who still dresses like that? thats a youngboul move. really not fashionable at all anymore. hasn’t been for a few years

  3. This is a great read. I think I’m going to send this to my little brother. He’s got 2, 4 and 6 down…could probably get his manners in order a little better…lol.

  4. You already know. I am about to circulate this. Your mama (and Mrs. Fresh) did a good job with you Fresh. You are allllll right.
    I am gonna extend your friendship pass.

  5. wonderful advice. they probably don’t know who the G.arbage Pail Kids are, tho. lmao @ sixty extending friendship passes.

  6. A million men need to march over here and read this.

  7. Sound advice here, Fresh. I wonder, though, if your words of wisdom aren’t being wasted on the choir. The people who really need to see this list probably won’t.

  8. Execellent advice.

  9. Great list!

  10. LH – You’re right but maybe word will travel although that’s probably wishful thinking. Moreso, maybe someone reading it is raising a young black man and can keep these words in mind.

  11. Excellent post sir! I trully wish this message could be broadcasted to the masses! You are a great role model!

  12. Not the Garbage Pail Kids… LMAO.

    Great post. And three cheers for #6!

  13. I have a feeling you will add on to this for years to come.

    Do you have any suggestions on places this list could be forwarded to?

    A place that could really use to hear and heed to these words.

  14. Definitely a good post Fresh. I’m gonna bookmark this.

  15. so dead at garbage pail kids LOL *bout to go dig my stash out the closet.. theyare collectors items*

    You are truly good mentor fresh.. 🙂 good job..

  16. and again he speaks(writes) the truth

  17. This needs to be a poster, some rap lyrics, a D.EF J.AM poem, a booty video. Whatever it takes to get the word out. This is excellent advice to pass on.

  18. *applauds*. Fantastic!!

  19. I didn’t have a chance to respond last week but I wanted to come back and say…YOU’RE THE SHIT!!! I know I am normally callin you “Some Shit” LMAO!! But after this post your just THE SHIT! LOL!!! This list gets shared…you know that!

Leave a Reply

 
