Saturday

It’s Saturday. 11:38pm. I almost forgot to post today. Almost. But after being out all damn day, I finally had a chance to sit down in front of the laptop, although it is 11:38pm.

What’s on your mind Fresh?

Yesterday I found out that not one, but three of my co-workers are leaving. These are not people I work with directly but they are members of the proud minority (read: black folk) on the corporate plantation. To top it off, an additional two members were apparently asked to leave. That’s five y’all. That’s like 25% of the black folk up in there. A major blow to the numbers.

Can’t say I blame them for leaving, in fact, I’m happy for them but damn to be without some of the people who actually help you get through the day is rough especially since they’ve all been there for a good minute. But it’s time for everyone to move on. I feel a move in my universe as well. This year. 2008.

Now I have to do some investigating on the ones that were “asked” to leave. Not fired but asked. When I found out and spoke to one, they were told it was downsizing. Downsizing is bullshit. Why the hell did you “up-size” if you can’t maintain the stability? And if you’re downsizing, why would you still be hiring like crazy? So I find that excuse hard to believe but yet it was what they were told. Ironically enough, this move came around performance review time and it would not surprise me if they write it off as unsatisfactory performance of the employee, but not negligence of the employer.

So I drove home last night in a funk. One of those moments where you end up at your destination but never really remember how you got there. I know I drove. Just don’t remember how fast and if there was traffic and crap like that.

I’m out of the funk now but yesterday was a stark reminder that this corporate America thing is a different game. There’s a price on your head and if you don’t pay attention, you could get fucked.

Where’s the vaseline?

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on February 10, 2008.

6 Responses to “Saturday”

  1. “There’s a price on your head and if you don’t pay attention, you could get fucked.”
    yessir
    oh and the vaseline’s on the third shelf just to the right of the ky jelly

  2. sigh. if they took 5 black people out of my department that would leave 1? yeah… i think that’s it. maybe 2.

  3. Damm. There are black people at my company but I’m the only one left on my team. There were 5 a while ago but two quit, two transferred to other teams and one died. Hopefully I won’t be the only one for too long.

  4. We can’t take 5 out. Try two. That sucks.

  5. Damn.. I’m about to let one go today and its performance related.. which will leave us 2.. including moi..

  6. I like that term…corporate plantation. Very accurate.

Leave a Reply

 
