Is it that bad?

“I hope you’re not trying to make me laugh……I don’t want to smile”

Those are the exact words that came out of friend’s mouth today and those words are ringing in my ears. I’m not going to put her whole situation on blast here but I can tell you that it involves a man whom she had relations with. No, not married. No, not boyfriend. Relations. Convenient genital bumping. You people are smart enough to read between the lines.

I cut off communication with said friend last year. I couldn’t deal with the constant one sided conversations. Complaining, bitching, gripes about this and about that. It got to the point where nothing good came out of her mouth and I told her that she needed to seek professional help. But I realized that there are people in this world that are just satisfied with not being happy. They don’t want to be happy and when you try to help them become happy, they get mad.

They’ll walk around pissed off for what? Ask them. They don’t know. But they know that their world isn’t right and they need to put the blame on someone. Anyone. Except themselves.

Do things get that bad that you don’t even want to smile? Do things get so bad that you get mad at people who try to make you smile?

I mean sure, life has it’s ups and downs. And if I’m down, the first thing I’m looking for is someone to make me smile. Laugh. Take me away from what I’m feeling for a brief moment to give me a sign that I can break out of this funk. You’d be amazed how many times I was pissed and read someone’s blog and boom, just like that, I’m out of that mood.

But you don’t want to smile? You don’t want to laugh. It’s that serious huh?

Believe it or not, being the big bad wolf takes years off your life. With all the crap my mom went through, not once did I see her not smile at me. She would always just say “This too shall pass”

You walk around wearing your emotions on your sleeve and always pissed off, you’re inviting bullshit into your world. There are emotion leeches out there that will see your mood and suck the damn life out of you.

When things get you down, you have the right to sulk, but if you feel like you’ve been in that funk for too long, take a step back and think of something good. Maybe a scene from a show or the time your friend bust their ass in the club or the time that other person made your toes curl.

Whatever it takes, just smile.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on February 7, 2008.

11 Responses to “Is it that bad?”

  1. I used to deal with alot of ppl like that. every time we talked I felt like Dr Phil. Forreal, I can’t even fathom the reason why ppl would want to be in a bad mood all day. ridiculous to me…

    The Star (Mr. P)

  2. I had to cut off many a toxic friend. I decided one day that I had my own problems and I needed people around me that were positive. Best decision I ever made. SAY NO TO NEGATIVITY AND DRAMA.

    Great post. I am getting used to this blogging everyday.

  3. Shout out to Fresh for the daily blogging! I think these people don’t want to take responsibility for their own happiness. They are so used to be down and out that another emotional place completely baffles them. Unfortunately, they can become leeches as well…

  4. @Caesar Cannon – That’s real. Feeling like Dr. Phil is draining. People need to move on

    @Sixty – Getting used to it huh? Awww damn….

    @Melonie – I’m getting daily blogging shout outs??!? I might be on to something

  5. No seriously, I’m excited to pop over here cause I know there will be something new to read. You are gonna make us all Fresh Junkies!

    I have days when I don’t feel like smiling. But I usually don’t leave the house on those days. Somedays I just need to be alone. And I used to have a sad sack friend. Used to! She couldn’t come to ’08 with me.

  6. I think some folks find comfort in being somber and wallowing in self pity. I’ve met some people who have never been taught how to enjoy life and just be happy. Counting my blessings everyday is what keeps me smiling.

  7. I personally think that some people just tend to operate in a constant negative state. They themselves may end up being emotional vampires because they end up affecting the moods of anyone who comes into contact with them. All you can do is listen (to an extent) and then cut them off.

  8. I am all about the smiles, fugg being pissed off over some BS. There are people dying because their hungry, sheeeeiiittt…frown over that!

  9. i had to cut two people out of my life for constantly refusing to take responsibility for their own unhappiness. don’t try to blame me and refuse to listen to reason. if that’s your steeze, i’ma be out b/c i don’t need the drama.

  10. 🙂 Pass thing along to your friend:

    Smiling is contagious, you catch it like the flu
    When someone smiled at me today I started smiling too.
    I passed around the corner, and someone saw my grin –
    When he smiled I realised I’d passed it on to him!
    I thought about that smile, then I realised its worth.
    A single smile – just like mine
    Could travel round the earth!
    So, if you feel a smile begin, don’t leave it undetected –
    Let’s start an epidemic quick and get the world infected!

  11. You are so right on this. I got two of them around me now. I keep wanting to grab them and shake them till their teeth clack together whilst serenading them with “Maybe you forgot but I declared this the Year of the Selfish! Which means I don’t give a shit cause it ain’t my fault or problem!”.

    Hell just that thought makes ME smile anyway…

Leave a Reply

 
