It’s called O.S.A.G

You’ve probably seen the name on other blogs. OSAG. But do you really know (or care) what it means and where it came from?

It all started here. https://alwaysfunkyfresh.wordpress.com/2007/05/09/operation-shrink-a-gut/

OSAG stands for Operation-Shrink-A-Gut.  But it takes too much time to write out that whole Operation yackity yack so I gave it a nickname.

OSAG. Simple right? (and catchy)

It’s not a challenge or anything like that. It’s not a fitness plan where I’m telling you what to do and how to do it. It simply started out as me realizing that I was losing control of my health situation and needed to do something about it. That’s it in a nutshell. Read the link if you want to know more.

So OSAG is about getting healthy because let’s face it, our community, for whatever reason (lack of education, ignorance, the “man”) doesn’t do too well in this area.

One of the things I do every year, regardless of how I feel, is get a physical exam. I put on that flimsy ass gown crap and sit ass out on the damn table while the doc checks me. Sure there are parts of the exam I dread (I’ll let you figure that out) but these are things I need to know. Rounding off the physical is blood work. I get tested for everything. You say I’m paranoid. I say there’s a reason why my job has benefits 🙂

I had a physical towards the end of last year and I kind of had a feeling that some of my results would come back elevated. I hadn’t exercised in a while and I had been eating like crap. It’s tough when you travel and you’re running to the airport that has the worse options. Golden arches anyone?

A few weeks ago I got back my results. Just as I expected. Cholesterol was up. In fact, I was in the borderline high risk area with a total number of 220. But the number that shocked me the most was blood pressure. That was up and this is what got me to thinking that damn this hereditary stuff must be kicking in. Both sides of my family have a history of high blood pressure. Although the number (132/86) was somewhat higher than usual (it put me in the prehypertensive category), it was still manageable.  I swear I think my blood pressure was high because I had to deal with the Beltway that day!

My doctor challenged me for 3 weeks that by the time I came for my follow-up appointment to get the numbers lower. And I did. Blood pressure dropped significantly (110/76). Cholesterol slightly but enough to get me on the edge of borderline (200).  I didn’t do a complete overhaul of what I ate. I just changed a few things here and there but I did exercise at least 4 times a week. I go back in 8 weeks for another follow-up. Let’s see what I can do to my numbers then.

But what about motivation Fresh? I start and then I stop. What do you do then? Hell, I wish I had the magic or easy button for that question. It depends on you. Everybody has different motivation. If you want to fit in that swimsuit or jeans that’s sizes smaller than you are now, I say, go buy it. Yup. Go buy it and put it somewhere in your closet as a reminder that’s what you striving for.  Wifey gets Es.sence and when they have those women in there that were over 50 and looking fuggable, I meant fabulous, there was a common thread that other than genes, most of them ate right and exercised.

I heard way too many stories last year of our people dying young and not because of senseless violence but because of health issues. People in their late 20’s and 30’s having strokes and heart attacks. People learning that they are diabetic or even worse, contracting STDs. Are you serious?

Then I heard stories of people losing weight and boyfriends/husbands/family members having negative comments about it. “You betta eat another plate of chitlins to put some meat on them bones”….Healthy to some of our parents and grandparents means eating two plates at dinner. And if your boyfriend is pissed cause you lost weight and your ass isn’t as phat, well, guess you know the real reason why he’s with you.

It’s YOUR body.  You control it.

I’ll be more than happy to share with people anything I’ve learned. I may even put out a few challenges along the way. There are a bunch of OSAG’ers out here in blogland. Ask people for advice. Regardless just take care of yourselves and get healthy! It’s 2008 remember. The year of the take over.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on January 14, 2008.

14 Responses to “It’s called O.S.A.G”

  1. 104/70 for me. i’ve only been 1-2xs/wk in the last month or so b/c my schedule has been all over the place. gettin back in the 3xs/wk sked this week. yay! can’t wait.

  2. I am back on track. I ran this weekend and didn’t collapse (GO ME). It’s all about being healthy. Weight loss and toning are the fringe benefits.

    OSAG,WHAT?!

  3. I need some motivation!!! I plan on working out tonight and trying to get at least 3x a week in.

    I’m trying to be lean and mean by my birthday in April…I think I can I think I can!!!

  4. I’m perpetually on OSAG but I’ve kicked it up a notch the last three weeks. I added kickboxing to my fitness routine. And I am trying desperately to stay away from desserts.

  5. I started bootcamp last week! It’s hard getting up in the morning but it’s worth it! High blood pressure, cholestorol, etc…all that runs in my family, so I understand the need to maintain a healthy lifestyle…it’s about finding what works best for you!

  6. I have definitely fallen off the wagon. I still work out, but not as much as I was in the beginning and my eating habits have been pure crap! Then I got on the scale on Sunday night – what a reality check. So now I’m back on the wagon, drinking my water, working out four days a week, eating more fruits/veggies, limiting the sugar (this is the hardest), etc.!

    Kudos to you for bringing those numbers down and constantly challenging yourself Fresh!

  7. I feel you fresh.. hereditary issues are the WORST ones.. but I’m handling my biz.. OSAG definitely in full effect as I shrink my gut for that bikini in april and continue to see my bday in May!

  8. Boy do I need some motivation… My OSAG is way overdue. The pants are digging into me on a daily and that’s no fun. Lol. I joined a gym about a month ago and ain’t been back since. So sad. Pray for me.

  9. Well since its not really financially possible for me to get in the gym, I’ve at least started to eat healthier. I can honestly say that I have low cholesterol and normal blood pressure (because of my age), but the doc said that in about 7-10 years, my being a big dude will start to show in terms of my health with everything starting to go out of whack. By the end of the semester, or April at the earliest, I’ll be in the gym going hard kicking my OSAG into high gear.

  10. I do need to go back to bellydancing.

    But, sheeitt ole boy loves my thickness. I am his ‘phatty girl’. Yet my motivation still remains- “Richard” aka D**K.

    -divine

  11. Oh damn..suddenly, my sausage McGriddle doesn’t look or taste so good anymore. 😉

  12. I can dig it! I dont listen to anyone when it comes to my weight loss – I lost 15 pounds since last year and I have 15 more to go. People are trying to tell me that I’m good as is, but fugg that! There is a method to my madness, take off as much weight as I can now, so when I start a family and get knocked up (i’m such a lady..lol) I can eat what I want and not blow up, to a gross size, HA!

  13. great post! congrats on lowering the numbers.

    i’m one of those people who everyone thinks warrants an ‘okay, let’s talk about your weight’ conversation. and man if it hasn’t gotten on my nerves.

    you should post before and afters! lol.

  14. Congrats on dropping the BP and cholesterol. My family’s medical history is crazy, so I try and watch myself, but I have been slacking, especially since my daughter was born. Hopefully I’ll get my motivation back.

Leave a Reply

 
