New Year. New Ummm….Yeah…that…

Merry New Year to all you internet junkies out there!

Someone asked me….”Fresh, what are you New Year’s Resolutions?” (what else would someone ask you on the first day or two of the new year?!?!)

But really, I hadn’t thought of any so I said I didn’t know.

I have things here and there like stop procrastinating or maybe I’ll be a little more personal with the blog at times or work up the nerve to actually meet a few bloggers – hell I travel to places where most of you reside – or maybe I’ll expand this whole blog thing or maybe I’ll just put an end to the blog thing completely….hmmmm……I’m just thinking out loud.

So I became reflective for a bit and then stopped in mid-thought. In 2007, there are some things I did really well and some things I did that sucked ass buckets. Such is life. You live and you learn right?

But this year, 2008 is going to be different for me. I feel it. I started out writing resolutions and then I stopped because I noticed they all had the same “blah” tone. I don’t want it to be a “blah” year. So I’m going to do something different. Instead of saying I’m going to do this and do that, I decided to come up with a New Year’s theme. Not resolutions. A theme. Everything I do, every aspect of my life, I will incorporate this theme.

My theme is my vision. Come this time next year, I want to look back and say “I did my motherf*cking thing in 2008” Yup. I’m gonna say it just like that.

Then I started thinking about themes. Ju.st Do I.t is good and it’s right on point but it’s not what I’m looking for. Be – yeah I like that too but still lacking that umph……but this next one….this sh*t just resonates with me so it’s my choice.

2008 is the year of….

THE TAKEOVER.

Everytime I say that to myself, I hear the Jigga song playing in my head and that beat and I get amped.

R.O.C we runnin’ this rap shit….DAAMMMN….

I’m taking over control of my mind, my spirit, my body…Everything. Going for what I want and how I want it instead of waiting for a plump ole white man to come with some damn deer and drop that shit under a tree.

Go for it. I have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

A.F.F I’m runnin’ this ’08 shit……

Six-ty we runnin’ ’08 shit….

Royce and Lee we runnin’ ’08 shit….

BK we runnin’ ’08 shit……

EVERYBODY runnin’ it. (too many of y’all to list!!!)

For those who forgot or don’t know the song

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on January 2, 2008.

17 Responses to “New Year. New Ummm….Yeah…that…”

  1. ahhhhhhhhhh!!! this song was our JAM sophomore year in college!!! (i know that makes me young but I DON’T CARE!!) i was just about to get crunk b/c you didn’t name me but then i clicked play. thank jay for your reprieve.

  2. I’m with you Fresh….08 is our year….the year of the Takeover.

    We are gonna get our minds, bodies and finances right in 2008.

  3. YEEEEEAAAAAHHHHHH!!!! I know that’s right!!! I’m getting hyped up just thinking about it!!!

    2008…Let’s Get IT!!!

  4. Say that bruh, 2008 is going to be great!!!!!!! I’m too excited about the possibilities!!!

  5. I love The Takeover as the theme…had me bobbing my head in agreement like THAT’s that shyt right there. Can’t wait to see what you have planned man!

  6. Damn that BEAT! Cant help but wanna bully some shit. Good luck!

  7. Ahhhhh! Frizzesh! I’m head noddin’ hard right now! Seriously! Takeover in 08! Happy New Year!

    LMAO @ So Wise…Makes you wanna jack somebody’s lunch money, huh?! LOL (Sorry, feeling really giddy on the Takeover theme!)

  8. I’m with you Fresh. Happy New Year

  9. happy new year
    we gon b takin ova son!!!

  10. Nice theme!! I feel you, B!

  11. WOW…did you just go soft on a sista? I mean I’ve never seen this “sentimental” side of you LMAO!!! BTW…I’m with you…let’s take over the world!!!

    Miss you man…droppin by to show you some love before I head back out into the fields 🙂

  12. Yeah cause…maybe they’ll love me when I fade to black.

    I feel you, OMG. First time reader but like what you got here.

  13. yessir.. the takeover!!!!

    I’m with you man..

    Weight Down and Money Up!!!!

  14. You gangsta for dis. . . A sister was gone takeover the RR note soon as you got it, but no mention no fat ass whip.

    Do you! Now that theme would’a rocked; and you know Russell be lettin’ people use him to build they baby empire all phat an shit.

  15. I’m diggin on this theme. That’s wassup Fresh. HAPPY NEW YEAR BRUH!!! 😀

  16. I really don’t like New Years Resolutions because I feel like: why do I have to wait till the new year to try something new, ya feel?

  17. Whats really good Fresh?…Happy New Year…hows OSAG comin along?

Leave a Reply

 
