A little extra…

D.onovan M.cNabb (black Quarterback for the P.hiladelphia E.agles) is apparently being criticized for comments he made during a recent interview which aired last night on TV. He says….

“There’s not that many African-American quarterbacks, so we have to do a little bit extra” He goes on to say that white quarterbacks don’t get criticized as much as black quarterbacks. You may agree. You may disagree. That’s your business.

Mr. M.cNabb’s profession is football. Football pays his bills. That’s what he does for a living. It is his corporate America.

In my corporate America, my day to day reality is the same as M.cNabbs. I feel like I have to do a little bit extra to get the recognition I deserve. I’ve seen others get accolades left and right but for me, at times I feel I have to fight to receive.

So my question to you is this……….

In your life, in your corporate America, do you feel that you have to do “a little bit extra” because  of you are African-American, or are a woman, etc.

Do you feel like you have to show and prove above and beyond your counterparts or else you will get criticized?

And…..

Do you feel as if others in your category (African-American, women, etc) have an effect on how you are perceived in your place of employment?

Get at me in the comments….

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on September 19, 2007.

9 Responses to “A little extra…”

  1. I work in a white male dominated industry. Over the course of the last 8 years with this company, I have climbed from Sales Manager to Account Executive to Sr. Account Executive to my current Director role.

    As a younger, female, Black counterpart….I believe that there is more opportunity for me in Corporate America because how many of us are at the top? I look at it as “hey, you guys don’t have a female, black, young person on your Exec team…How about me?”….I want to bring the diversity with me as I rise.

    However, to do that, I have to excel far beyond the pack. I have to be professional, on time, courteous, have great people skills and always set a high standard for myself and my performance. We are judged harshly because (and be honest) MANY OF US ACT A FOOL IN THE WORKPLACE. In addition, we have to tailor how we give feedback or criticism so as not to appear as the “angry” kneegrow in the office.

  2. I agree with ALL of what 1969 has said.. I have been down that same role..

    I’ve also found the same thing in the FITNESS industry.. I’m not the typical size 0 so who am I to tell you how to lose weight or challenge you but then you find my classes harder than my size 0/other persuasion counterparts.. you are impressed at how good of an instructor I am for a woman MY SIZE.. *eye roll* don’t get me started on this one man.. LOL.. ooh wow

  3. I don’t really have that problem at my job b/c before me they had a 5 year series of fuck ups, so everything that i do properly makes me look like a genius (which i am). As far a corporate america in general. being young and black and a woman is like a triple negative. i’m constantly going above and beyond (especially during times of review) just to prove that I deserve to be here as much as the others. great post!

  4. What’s new? Black people know that they have to pay the Black Tax and assume position when working within the culture of power. The Oprahs, Jordans, Cosbys, Hovas,and Diddy’s of the world all play the role to gain what’s rightfully theirs.

    Donavan McNabb maybe speaking his truth…but he needs to keep his yap shut and just put it in the work. It serves no purpose to talk about race when you’re a well paid athlete (at least that’s what ole massa thinks). White people wanna ack like prejudice and racsim are never fact in their perception of us…as if they never enslaved us for 400 hun’ded years! But we should already know that white people are bold and full of audacity.

    I feel that we should’nt say nothing when it comes to proving our worth….actions always speak louder than words…and you don’t need recognition if you know that you’re the ish already. What we need to do is leave white folks out of the equation when it comes to the road to success…cause every time you open your mouth injustice (particularly if you’re well paid)..they’ll call you ungrateful, a whiner, and a shiftless complainer. So black people just do the damn thing.

  5. i don’t feel like i have to go above and beyond in my current job, but i’ve felt like that before. multiple times when going through high school. i don’t worry about the woman thing nearly as much as i think about being black. and i do worry when a black person does anything that’s looked down on whether its at work or anywhere else. non-blacks have a tendency to lump us so i always think they think bad and black are synonymous or criminal and black or whatever.

    i’m blunt. no need to beat around the bush, just say it and let’s not cry about it. black people seem to understand it. the majority does not like this. they think if i’m not apologizing at every turn i’m cold-hearted. its perplexing. aren’t we all adults? then let’s act like it. and its so hard to not come off as the angry black woman when there’s already a misconception about where i’m coming from.

  6. Yep, sure did feel like that. Can’t tell you how many times I was the only person of color AND the only female sitting in a room full of stodgy white males who got their jobs based on who they know while I’d worked my way up through the ranks. I remember a friend sitting in that room with me one day (white male) and seeing me have to battle “creatively” to get a simple point across with one particular person who didn’t care for African-Americans or women. My thing is this – I know who I am, what I bring to the table and no matter WHAT that man prayed for, I was gonna show up the next day – still African-American, and still female.

  7. In my current role, I don’t have to go above and beyond…mostly because I really have a great relationship with my managers and they spoil me. Besides that…I know my shit…and as the office manager I keep them on track.

    Back when I was in a executive management role, I definitely had to go above and beyond, work weekends and late nights, read minds and virtually jump thru hoops. Whatever I did, it just never seemed to be enough. I was expected to train the BECKYS and they were getting promotions while I remained stagnant. It can really make you bitter.

  8. Hell Muthafucking Yeah.

    I am a slave in Higher Education…at an Institution of Lower Learning. My male co-workers do shit late, half-ass and they are treated like the King of the Castle. The women in my divison carry our own weight plus, clean up the mess of the men.

    Now as a black woman…you can forget it. Anything I do, right and above and beyond is ignored. A mistake is my fucking ass. While the black man comes in half way fucking groomed…with black stripes of dirty and ass chips underneath his nails and breath smelling like a waste dump.

    Around here…being a man is the ticket. Women are third class citizens.

    I ain’t even on the map! Fucking racism and sexism!

  9. maaaaaan yeah! i am a woman, african-american, AND a part-time employee (because of school and my coaching). i have to do soooooo much extra stuff just to get any recognition of any kind. and they ALWAYS ‘pick on me’ for any little thing i do, test my knowledge of the company policies etc publicly often, and always make me feel like i’m not part of the company because i’m only there part time.

    as far as i’m concerned though, they can all kiss my pretty black arse.

Leave a Reply

 
