Operation Shrink-A-Gut

BKDiva made me do this. 🙂

Nah, I’m playing. This shit is real.

In fact, if you look and listen carefully, it’s all around you.

The 50 million pound challenge – Dr. Ian Smith.

Celebrity Fit Club.

You get the point.

More and more people are getting on the weight loss kick. And right fully so. Health in the African-American community is an issue. One that should not be overlooked. Our community suffers from a lack of health education.

Do you know what HDL/LDL and what it’s measured for?

Do you know what your blood pressure is?

Do you know your BMI?

How much body fat do you have?

When is the last time you went to the doctor for a physical?

And if you freaky deaky like that, do you know your status?

I can answer all of these. A lot of people can’t. A lot of people can’t even answer the last two, especially the brothers. Some of us are ignorant when it comes to health. We don’t get regular checkups. We only go if our last nut is hanging off and even then I guarantee you some of us will just fight through the pain and say something like “I just need to rest and drink some Ginger Ale”.

Real talk. I’m back in the gym.

I was at lunch the other day and I ate so much. Damn Cajun food was good as hell. But when I was finished, I felt like crap. So I’m walking all slow back to the office, and when I walk past a shiny car and see my reflection in the mirror, I see the artist formerly known as my stomach. Now it’s officially a gut. Damn.

See I’m an off and on gym rat. I’ll admit it. One minute I’m real good. Consistent. But about a month or so ago, I sprained my wrist playing ball (landed on it) and since then I haven’t done one ounce of athletic activity but finger to the remote. 30 is not the new 20 when you get injured. Shit takes longer to heal.

But after that reflection (literally), I’m back on the gym kick. I should have never left it in the first place but hey, things happen.

Let me be clear. I’m not overweight. I just have a gut and as a former high school/college athlete, it’s enough to light a fire in my ass just like when the doctor told me some years back that my cholesterol was borderline high. When I heard that news, I made working out part of my daily routine and smashed that cholesterol problem. So now it’s my gut.

Hey Fresh, why are you making such a big deal over your gut? Well let me break it down like this.

My gut = stomach fat = visceral fat = heart disease and/or type 2 diabetes. Don’t believe me? Do a google search on the words “visceral fat”

I’m not trying to be like my father or his father or mother or any one else in my family popping pills in the morning to keep my blood pressure down or prevent any other illness.

I’m concerned though. Concerned about my peoples. Concerned that you get tired walking up a flight of steps. Concerned that you just eat whatever the hell you want, when you want. It’s about more than just exercise. It’s about what you eat too. I’m not telling people to go out and get six packs. But I am telling you to go get healthy.

Ladies I know you like the thick look but be thick and healthy. And Fellas, go to the doctor. Ladies, make your man go to the doctor cause you know we can be ignorant sometimes…(yes…just sometimes).

This post is getting long already. I was going to include my workout but I’ll save that for another posts. In fact, I’ll even post some of the stuff I’ve learned about exercise and eating right.

Don’t worry, I’m not trying to turn my blog into personal training session though. 🙂

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on May 9, 2007.

15 Responses to “Operation Shrink-A-Gut”

  1. LOL GO FRESH.. ITS YA BIRFDAY!!!

    Serious real talk!!! I just got Dr. Ian’s book.. and also the book by the Hollywood Trainer, Jeanette Jones *or is that her last name* anywho.. great post.. and you are right.. as ladies we have to force the men we love to go to the doctor.. they WON’T do it.. *nothing wrong with me* LOL

    I’ll be sure to harrass you some more to make sure you keep itup.. and a gut is so not sexy.. on either man or woman!!! that’s why I’m down 2 tires and got 1 more to go!

  2. I was one of those, always skinny, could eat everything type of broads. Two kids shut that down. Metabolism? What metabolism? I had to adjust my eating habits (I no longer eat red meat or pork, just chicken and fish) and began a workout routine. At 37, I feel great and am physically fit. I lost about 15 pounds and have been able to maintain my weight. More importantly, I feel healthy. Kudos to you for this PSA. Black people need to wake up and take better care of themselves. And a gut is never sexy!

  3. Good for you…My ex died last year from a heart attack at 34 and he was very slim/looked to be in great shape but he didn’t go to the doctor on the regular. I did my best to get him to the doctors but men have to realize the pain and the affects of their untimely death will have on their loved ones.

  4. @BK and 1969 – I know y’all are gonna stay on me right? It’s all love…

    @Akilah – thanks for commenting. I’m hearing more and more stories like that. Young people in their 30’s losing their life not over violence but over health issues. It’s real.

  5. Good health is as much a hot commodity as currency, hell it’s more important. I met some friends for lunch last week & they spent 20 minutes discussing medications/cholesterol/HBP, diabetes. While I don’t have any of those issues, my weight does make my highly likely unless I do something to turn it around. Stay on it Dude.

  6. That is some real talk….I got to keep my ass moving…and not just bouncin!

  7. Real Talk Fresh! I work in the healthcare finance industry and it’s so sad how much money is spent on prescriptions for conditions that could have easily been prevented.

  8. […] just don’t do it). Anyway, like I was saying, it’s bad enough I have a strand but this OSAG shit is taking it to another level. YO!!!!! This working out stuff is bru-tal. A knee-grow stay […]

  9. Thank you for the inspiration! 🙂

  10. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  11. I had a health class a few semesters back so lemme see if I still kno this stuff….HDL and LDL are High Density Lipids and Low Density Lipids respectively otherwise known as good and bad cholesterol. right? Im down wit OSAG Fresh, what r the terms?

  12. […] It all started here. https://alwaysfunkyfresh.wordpress.com/2007/05/09/operation-shrink-a-gut/ […]

  13. […] I know I post about Operation-Shrink-A-Gut damn near every week (and I will continue to do so), but I gotta give props to OSAG’s originator and the post that started it all: Always. Funky. Fresh. […]

  14. Real talk. I’ve got about 35 to 40 to drop. Bought a BowFlex. Started out hot. Even lost some inches. Hurt my back being HeMan moving too heavy ish by myself. Hurt my back so much that now I go to the chiropractor twice a week. Now the Bow got me shook…Back Pain is no joke. But I still gotta get right. I need to get back on it. Thanks for the push.

  15. […] Operation Shrink a Gut (jacked from Mr. Funky Fresh) has been under way for a couple of weeks now…but I keep squitsing (how do you like that one […]

Leave a Reply

 
