Proof I’m getting older….Understand me…

I woke up this morning, looked in the mirror and saw a gray hair. WHAT!?!?!?!? Yup, a gray hair, chillin’ on the side of my head. At first I thought that maybe it was the way the light was reflecting on my head but after looking at it from about 100 different angles, I confirmed that it was not a figment of my imagination.

This is not the first time I’ve seen a gray hair before. The last time I knew it was stress. I mean I was going through a rough time in my life (some of y’all women are CRAZY) and I just figured the gray hair was God’s way of giving me a souvenir to tell me that I’ve made it through.

Today’s gray hair was different. Instead of running to my cell phone and calling up my barber to get a cut ASAP, I just chilled, stared at it…basically, I let it be. I ACCEPTED it. It’s proof I’m getting older…..It’s proof that I’m starting to really understand me and things like….

I don’t need any more friends….right now, as I’m typing this, I’m good with the ones I got….

I could care less about rims, tv’s in the back. I’d rather throw my “D”s on something else. I’d rather Pop, Lock and Drop the keys to a new house or rental property. I’d rather Flirt with a million dollar net worth.

It takes a lot to impress me. If you come bragging to me about the stuff , I’m usually not impressed.

I could care less about popping bottles or models popping bottles or however the hell you want to phrase it……

No longer do I close down the clubs….I really only fuck with happy hours now….because after 12 midnight, the young spring chickens roll in and I really don’t feel like catching salmonella….

No longer do I frequent chicken-laced events like Bike Week in Myrtle beach (been there did that), Cancun Memorial Day Weekend (umm been there a few times, did that) and the like…..

It’s about more than just your phat ass and breasts. It’s about what can you do to make me a better person….(ummm but if you do have the phat ass or breasts, that’s a plus 🙂 sorry couldn’t resist)
I know the difference between fucking you and making love to you AND it’s all about you having pleasure. If that works, I know I’ll get mine.

I know what HDL/LDL is and what I need to do to control it.

I know how to communicate better, both verbal and non-verbal…..Sometimes people just don’t know how to listen

I listen more. Speak less…..

I’m a lot more open minded than I used to be…..

I’m not afraid to try new things….

My clothes fit. I’ve come to the realization that I can no longer “grow into” something……

I don’t get all worried and worked up over nonsense. Some shit just ain’t worth fighting for…..

I’m not afraid to show my emotions……

I’m no longer invincible. I’m human. I live in a real world with real problems……

I’m saying shit like “Yo, back in the day” or “I remember when I was your age”…….

I speak to Him more.

I know how to apologize and admit when I’m wrong.

I’m also more of a realist. Look if we’re gonna be friends again and beef, it’s best we stay apart.

This statement “Everything happens for a reason” – is real.

I’m at a different place in my life. I have priorities.

I’ve “attempted” to take some of the younger brothers and sisters at my job under my wing. Whether or not they accept it is a different topic.

I can tell you what I like, when I like it, how I like it, why I like and who I like to do it with. (read into that as deep as you want -it applies to everything)

Before I make anyone else happy, I make myself happy first. Selfish right? Actually the opposite.

I can take criticism.

I like some of the finer things in life. I feel as if I deserve it.

But I am not defined by those things.

I listen to talk radio and 30 and over stations before the regular default black radio stations. There’s only so much Toot-that-thang up I can take.

To be continued……

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on April 25, 2007.

12 Responses to “Proof I’m getting older….Understand me…”

  1. *high five* WELCOME to accepting our life!!! LOL join the I’M OLD SO WHAT AND I DON’T GIVE A DAMN I CAN STILL DO ALL THE THINGS YOU DO IF I WANTED TO BUT I WON’T CAUSE I GOT SENSE CLUB!!!!

    LOL Now Ummm you stuck with me as your “friend” so suck it up shorty!!! LOL

  2. LMAO at salmonella! Yes to happy hour!

    F*ck flirting w/ that million dollar net worth. I wanna marry that mofo! :o)

    ‘Who, what, when, where, how and why I like’ is SO DAMN TRUE.

    Hilarious post, Fresh!

  3. I’m there with you Fresh and I’m loving this list.
    The young bros need to take a lesson, “I know the difference between fucking you and making love to you AND it’s all about you having pleasure. If that works, I know I’ll get mine.” Whew!! The truth, the truth!
    And nah, I haven’t been to a club in longer than I can remember. Get dressed, get there, pay money and get sleepy? No thanks.

  4. I have 5 gray hairs (that’s an estimate) and I’m not even 27 yet! I know exactly how you feel…it really fucking sucks.

    P.S….never admitted this but I listen to talk radio too!

    I fugured that made me a dork but I guess not!

    Oh and I watch Lou Dobbs and Larry King too so I guess I just might be a huge fucking dork after all.

  5. Fresh…this is a damn good post. For real. With age comes WISDOM for real!!!

    And yes, those chickenheads will give you Salmonella and even more gray hairs.

    I am so proud of you for this one.

  6. some of y’all women are CRAZY- I can hear that and not be stung by it because some of us women are disconnected from ourselves and in denial about our level of sanity. I wonder if we will every accept that within both gender communities some of us are “crazy”.

    I got no gray hairs but can’t wait to be a silver haired fire cracker! I am excited about that time when my hair sprinkles in the sun and is a ball of silver with strains of dark brown. I really will be on fire.

    As an old soul, I am loving the settling feeling. I think that is what you are talking about. Understand more of you and how to make those decision and deal with life. The focus is different. Thank Goodness some of us learn to change, refocus, and embrace it when we are beginning to gray and NOT only AFTER the gray!

    Hearting you!
    DL

  7. Love the post…am 26 and I completely agree.
    The young ones out here are too busy doing all the wrong things.

    I saw this dude profiling the other day in a Chrysler 300 and trying to pick up chicks. I took a closer look at the car and realize it was the same one I had from the rental company after my car accident. Young dude probably thought he was on top of the world.

    LMAOOOOOO @ salmonella.

  8. I’ve grown a few gray hairs(about 3) and I don’t like it at all. Women hate growing older much more than men. Growing older for a woman means that she is losing some of her power.

  9. Wow…nice.

    About those gray hairs…I had one in my eyebrow (yes…the eyebrow). I freaked out. I’m old enough to have gray hair (so far I only see 2 in my scalp) but my friggin eyebrow?!?! That was a bit much. I started wondering if/when I would see them DOWN THERE too ya know?! Anyway, I got over it (ahem…I got my eyebrows waxed and made sure that included the lone gray stray too!). 😀

  10. […] Proof I’m getting older….the remix If you missed the original version, click here. […]

  11. lmao @ I really don’t feel like catching salmonella. i’ve had a gray hair since 13. just one. now another one has popped up. very strange. i’m outgrowing the club, too. i’m too young for this!! i guess i should be glad i’m not 40 figuring this out huh?

  12. Damn! I am sorry I missed this post when it was new! This one is so good I wanna steal it and repost it! Major kudos!

Leave a Reply

 
