A Rebel in his own mind…

jackie.jpg

 

Since I’ve spent some much time on RACE this past week, it’s only fitting that I speak about this man.

 

Today, April 15th, marks the 60th anniversary of the day Jackie Robinson broke the color barrier in baseball.

 

I know some of you ( a lot of you) reading this are not baseball fans. Especially to most African-Americans, baseball is boring. Baseball is stupid and maybe that’s the reason why baseball is probably becoming extinct amongst African-Americans. And that’s your opinion and I respect it. I, on the other hand, am a huge fan of baseball because it essentially became my outlet while growing up in NYC. Seriously, it (baseball) kept me from joining others on the corner (who incidentally at that time were playing basketball).

 

But I need you to look past baseball for a second because this IS NOT about baseball.

 

This is about LIFE. This is about RACE. This is MUCH BIGGER than the sport.

 

Jackie Robinson broke into baseball in 1947.

 

1947.

 

Before Malcolm was released from prison and began preaching for Black Equality

 

Before Rosa refused to get up from her seat.

 

Before Martin marched in Washington DC.

 

Not to discredit what they did, but I think Jackie deserves the credit for giving us hope as well. He endured the nasty racism. I’m sure he was called a lot worse than what any radio shock jock can say. But he looked past it and became a role model to other Africa-Americans not only in the sport but in life as an activist. He just played the game.

 

” A Life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives” – Jackie Robinson.

 

 

 

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on April 15, 2007.

6 Responses to “A Rebel in his own mind…”

  1. Ha!! I wore my #42 jersey home yesterday on my flight!!!! Man I wish I knew.. I woulda invited you to the fantasy baseball league..

    🙂 Hmmm I might have to give you first dibs at my nationals tickets cause I might not make a few of the games!

  2. Wow, hard to believe that was 60 years ago…my grandpa is 68 and he talks about this guy like he’s GOD! 🙂 He inspired the folks of that generation but I think kids today aren’t in touchh with his historic accomoplishment.

    Sad.

  3. Damn good business, I defintely dig this!
    60 years man.
    Damn

    e.

    eclectik-relaxation.com

    The Message board (Grown folk talk)

  4. Jackie was a pioneer. It’s a shame, after all he endured, blacks are not as interested in baseball, as in football and basketball. Is it not cool enough? I mean they are LOOKING for us to play, and we don’t want to. What gives? Is it that we only break into things we’re told we can’t be a part of? *shrugging.

    Great post.

  5. Jackie was a true professional. He handled everything thrown at him with class and he REPPED for those BROOKLYN DODGERS!

    Great post….

  6. THis man is legendary!!!

Leave a Reply

 
