Is it time?…

My updates lately have been real skinny…..anorexic…..

It’s not that I don’t have anything to write about (I actually have plenty), but “the man” got my ass busy as I don’t know what at work.

EOY/EOQ/EOM – if you know what that means, you’re good and probably experiencing the same shit as me.

March is EOY – end of our fiscal year, EOQ -end of the quarter and of course once the 20’s come around, it’s EOM – end of month.

So with that in mind, I’ve been OOT or OTR. (out of town or On the Road). I just made that shit up. No one uses those acronyms!

When I first started working years ago, I went on my first corporate America sponsored business trip with a senior member of the organization. Mr. Senior Member was in his 40’s. Me – a young buck, fresh out of college, in my early 20’s. He sees the excitement in me when we’re on the plane, leans over and says “Enjoy this shit now. Sooner or later, this travel stuff becomes annoying. It makes you age quick. At some point, you’re gonna want to let it go”.

But me, being the young buck brushed it off. I’m like, this dude having a mid-life crisis.

Fast forward a decade.

For some reason, this year, these past couple of months have been crazy. I’m talking 5 cities in 3 days, or 3 days away, home for a day, back out for 2 days. Sometimes requiring a weekend stay. When I first started traveling at my current job, it was introductory meetings. They were easy to deal with. Now, they are more intense. Much more intense. To the point where I get on the plane to come home, I’m sleeping. I’m drained mentally and physically.

Times have changed. I was single back then. Less shit to worry about. Now when I leave, I gotta make sure the fam is straight. Travel is rough post 9/11. Now I gotta worry about 3-1-1. I know airport codes like the back of my hand, at least for the cities I frequent. I used to look at business travelers and say I’ll never be one of them. Crackberry buzzing. Rollbags in tow. Laptop keys tapping. Snacking on a burger from Mickey D’s. Running through the airport like O.J. (pre killing spree) I can’t conform. It was just a matter of time (guess what’s next to me buzzing). Then when you finally get home, you need time to unwind. Figure out what the hell just happened to the last couple of days.

I’m not completely mad though. Business travel has brought me to places that I would never think of going. Who would’ve though that Kansas had good BBQ? Kansas?!?!? It’s taught me a ton but as I woke up yesterday morning at 4:30am, getting ready to head to the airport again, I took a long, hard look in the mirror and realized it was that time.

I got on the plane yesterday with one of the new guys in my group. I’m the Sr. guy now. He’s the young buck. I leaned over and said “Enjoy this shit now. Sooner or later, this travel stuff becomes annoying. It makes you age quick. At some point, you’re gonna want to let it go”.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on March 13, 2007.

2 Responses to “Is it time?…”

  1. LOL ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh I remember those days!!! and when you are single and young its all about fun!!! you like yeah.. but then as you age, you get a family you like ummm Damn.. no wifey/hubby with me.. you miss the days of kissing the babies good night.. but when you come home and see their smiling faces and bring back souveniers of the places you have been it kinda makes it all worth it 🙂

  2. I just got promoted and the main benefit has been no more travel and the ability to work from home. Priorties change once you have a family.

    I have seen some great cities too. If you think Kansas has great BBQ, go to Austin!

Leave a Reply

 
