Reason, Season, Lifetime.

You know how the saying goes.

People come into your life for a reason, season or lifetime. (Whoever said that shit is a damn genius!)

When you sit down and think about it, you can divide people into those groups. Whether they be friends, ex-sex partners, girlfriends, boyfriends, whatever.

I’m a true believer that EVERYONE HAS A PURPOSE especially when it comes to their interaction with other people.

There are people that I can think of that have come and gone, giving me pain and strife but when I sit down and think about it, I believe they came for a purpose. They taught me something about life or helped me realize something about myself and moved on. I believe that I’m in the life of a few people right now for a reason. I’ll help them out and move on. No love lost. No anger. My job will be done when the time comes.

Reason and Season people are temporary. Sure you don’t know this in the beginning when you first meet them, but after a while, you know they won’t be around. You don’t fight to keep them around either. You just let them go.

Lifetime people are well…..lifers. No matter what the situation, no matter what goes down, these people here are by your side. They’re good for you. They allow you to be yourself. They make you realize things about yourself that most people don’t even see. They know when you’re hurting before you even pick up the phone. They’re not your “yes man” always agreeing with what you say or what you are but nevertheless it doesn’t deter them from being in your life. I’m fortunate to have a few lifers in my circle of friends. Two of which are celebrating birthdays either this weekend or next (Happy B-Day!!) These people have been in my life for 16-17 years. I knew from day 1 that they would always be around, no matter what. I haven’t been wrong. I have another friend who I’ve known for 28 years. 2-8. How crazy is that?!?! With either of these people, we don’t talk everyday, we don’t email everyday and we don’t even see each other everyday. They live in different parts of the country. But when we talk or see each other, it’s like we don’t miss a beat.

How can you tell if a person is a reason, season or lifetime? Sure a lot of it is your vibe with that person but I think a major part of it is TIMING. I’m sure I had lifetime people come around me but I wasn’t ready. I wasn’t accepting and they became a reason person. There’s no way you can accept a lifetime person if you’re not willing. You can’t force things. The universe doesn’t allow it. If the timing is off, it’s off and forcing things will only make it worse. HE has a plan for you. Just follow it.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on February 26, 2007.

7 Responses to “Reason, Season, Lifetime.”

  1. I needed to read that….

    I think I might need to come back and read that again.

    It is really speaking to me.

    Thank you Bruth!

  2. Very interesting…

    Makes me reflect on my past and present friendships/relationships. Everyone touches your life for a reason. No such thing as a mistake or a coincidence. Believe that.

  3. NO DOUBT!!! this is beyond true!!! I tell that to folks all the time… and I firmly believe this!

    good post!

  4. Good post Fresh. I have let many friends go in my lifetime. The true ones are still here.

  5. I deliberately picked this one out to comment on because I have a post sitting in my draft box that I’m working on. I agree. Everyone you meet has a purpose, though you may not always know what it is right away. Good read. I’ll be around!

  6. Definitely a good read Fresh and its the truth. Sounds like something Tyler Perry mentioned in one of his plays but instead he mentioned the parts of a tree (leaves, branches, and roots). I just wish more people could see it this way…

  7. Wow, thanks for this incredibly insightful reflection… I needed to read this, it’s really been a strange set of coincidences that brought me here to read these words when I needed them – God’s hand. Thanks for writing this.

Leave a Reply

 
