Happy Black History Month

February 2nd.

Just when I look forward to typing something enlightening about the month, I hear about Mr. Biden. This dude man needs to keep his mouth shut.

He decides to tell the world he’s entering the presidential race and then says this about Obama….

the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean and a nice-looking guy.”

Of course, Mr. Biden says his words were taken out of context. How else do you think they would be taken? Sure on one hand, it’s a compliment. But on the other hand, what would make you say something like that? So Jesse Jackson wasn’t articulate? Carol Moseley Braun wasn’t articulate? Oh I get it…they weren’t clean???

You know what’s crazy? I think it’s always like this. Not just in politics. In corporate America. Ask any white person about any well performing black employee and you may get similar words. It’s like they don’t know what to say or how to give us legitimate compliments. They’re articulate. We express ourselves well. What the hell is that?!?!?!?!?!?

My thing is…..who and what are you comparing me to?

(Let me get this one Obama)

I am not a rapper. Not Jay-Z, not Fiddy, not Diddy.

I am not an athlete. Not Allen Iverson. Not LeBron. Not Carmelo.

I guess these are the mainstream people he’s referring to. You judge their speech and how they present themselves and think they represent the masses. Then when someone like Obama comes long, it’s ohhh, he’s so articulate. I heard them say the same thing about Condeleeza. When it’s someone white, they don’t use the same words. No one called John Edwards articulate? How about Bill Gates? (we all know George Bush would NEVER be described as articulate)

You don’t expect me to be educated, charming, speak well and be forward thinking so when you do run across one that’s like that, you act surprised.

I’m really not sure who to blame here.

Do I blame the few mainstream blacks for being part-time ignorant and creating that stereotype? You know “keeping it real?”

OR

Do I blame the non-blacks (well whites) who refuse to relinquish respect and can’t de-program themselves from considering us inferior?

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on February 2, 2007.

9 Responses to “Happy Black History Month”

  1. I know your question was rhetorical, but this is how I feel.

    Both… Dr. King said “The Negro needs the white man to free him from his fears. The white man needs the Negro to free him from his guilt.”

    This means we both (blacks and non-blacks) have work to do in order to get to that middle ground. We can’t simply sit on our asses waiting for the day that whites will wake up recognize that we are educated, eloquent, innovative, and great leaders. Whites also can’t simply wait for a day for us to “get over it”. We also have to work and show them that despite the past, we’re still excelling.

    Some us are doing it, others aren’t. Unfortunately, those of us that aren’t doing it are the ones that get the most publicity, and they’re the ones whites focus on.

  2. I’m suprised Biden can walk with both of his feet stuck in his own mouth – maybe he should try out for the Olympics or head straight to Ripley’s Believe it or Not. Those ‘You’re so articulate’ comments irk me too. I don’t know why it seems to come as such a surprise to people that there are African-Americans who speak well, etc….especially in 2007. Perception can be a MF, ya know?

  3. I really used to like Biden. He’s been on Bill Maher’s show numerous times and I thought he wasone of the good up and coming dems.

    It’s unreal that with all of the successful black entrepeneurs and philanthropists, white people still act surprised when we’re conversationally adept, CLEAN, possess an expansive vocabulary, and are educated.

    Fucking sad.

  4. 😦 no comment. this brought on a long debate/argument amongst myself and a few of my students.. you don’t talk politics and it was AMAZING at how so many of them were so ignorant.. I should have ran when they asked me how I felt about his comment.. I shoulda known it was a set up.. but I didn’t.. I stood tall and responded to this man’s ignorance and offended several of my students but I clearly made them understand.. you offended me by even asking my opinion on such ignorance..

  5. I think it’s both. On one hand, it’s 2007 like MsJayy said. It should not be a surprise that there are African-Americans who speak well, carry themselves well and will beat your ass in an election Mr. Biden. But on the flipside, those of us who are in the public eye and/or are mainstream AND are a part of the “keeping it real” movement, do place a hinder on our progression. Look, as a black man, I’m all for progressing while being yourself. I can’t stand an uncle Tom but at some point, there are certain things you have to let go off in order move on (like, can you pull your pants up for once) The real smart ones are those that know how to play their game.

  6. I was having a conversation regarding this tonight. I hope you don’t mind but I forwarded your email along because it’s EXACTLY what I wanted the person to understand.

    Thank you!

  7. No problem Creole….

  8. Both.

  9. You know I’m feeling this post, right? I couldn’t have said it better myself. That’s my TWIN! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
