Jamaica-Part II – Dem no worry we.

Like I said in my last entry, everyone needs to go on vacation. EVERYONE.

Look, let’s be real. We ALL get caught up in the day to day. We ALL get caught up in routine. Get up, take a shower, get the kids ready for school, get yourself ready, get them to school, get to work, take shit at work, leave work, pick up the kids, get dinner, get them in bed, maybe get a little workout in there, watch some tv and get to sleep. Repeat cycle 5 times.

With all that being said, who has time to go on a vacation? Who has the money? Trust me you do. Trust me, you HAVE to. There are a lot of you out there who OWE IT TO YOURSELF to get away. You DESERVE to get away with all the bullsh*t you put up with.

As soon as I got to the airport to leave for Jamaica, I turned off my cell phone. I didn’t turn it back on until I arrived back in DC. No cell phone. No email. No laptop. No internet. No need for it. I’m on vacation.

I slept late. I sat by the pool watching “them” get red from trying to tan turning over every fuggin’ 20 minutes like they got Perdue Oven Stuffer Roaster timers on them. I watched “them” toss back shots and scream. Me and Adolphus (the bartender at the pool) became best damn friends as I tried every damn concocted drink he mixed up. I ate so much damn jerk and curry it’s ridiculous. I worked out twice and after one, I went to the spa. Yep, you read it right. I took my behind to the spa and got a massage, manicure, pedicure and facial and listened to the lady give me skin care tips (she asked me if i used toner? what the fugg is toner? doesn’t that go in a printer?). I read a book, I listened to my iPod, I met people from different countries (never try to outdrink a German), I watched Anthony Hamilton stroll around the hotel with his wife and I didn’t think twice about asking him for a picture. He was with his wife. He came to chill just like me. I went to the Jazz fest and watch him and Earth Wind and Fire and Wayne Wonder and Shaggy and a rack of other folks perform. I watched my boy vow to love a woman till death do them part. Damnit, I just chilled.

I know people who’ve never left this country. That’s not too bad. I know people who have never left New York City. A vacation isn’t going from Brooklyn to the Bronx to see your friend. That’s nonsense. I can’t get those people to come visit me in Maryland. 4 hour drive. No dice. It’s like they’re trapped. They’re afraid to see what else is out there. I even offered to pay. All they had to do was jump on a plane. They turned it down. Gave me every excuse in the book. And it’s not the first time. It’s a shame. I can’t deal.

I’ve been to a couple of islands. I’m not done. I need to see Europe – France, Italy, London – they’re all on my list. Africa is at the top of my list and wherever else God wants to take me, I’m down.

EVERYONE needs to experience that. EVERYONE.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on February 1, 2007.

7 Responses to “Jamaica-Part II – Dem no worry we.”

  1. I agree wholeheartedly. I have been to almost every single island in the Caribbean, Paris, Canada, all over the US.

    Travelling is an adventure. Everyone’s spirit needs a break from the ordinary. You have to regroup and remember what life is really about. Good post. I’ll remember it in April when I am in Trinidad.

  2. Fresh when you are ready to visit Antigua let me know.

    I second that on people who never left the city. Damn shame. Sometimes they think crossing the bridge from BX to Jersey is travelling. That don’t count fool you have to get out and experience the world. Going to 223 street in the BX is not the same as going to Jamaica. LOL

  3. ^^^Can’t forget about Crown Heights in Brooklyn. I travel outside of the country as much as I can. At least once a year I go visit my fam and bredren in Jamaica, and I’m trying to touch my feet on every continent (except Antarctica) before 2010. I honestly think the world would be a lot better off if more people travelled far away from home to see how other people are living. Things might just get a little more peaceful.

  4. @ 1969….I’ll be hating when you’re in Trinidad.

    @ Tired….People are bugging talking about going on vacation from the BX to Jerz. Fools…

    @ Tasha – That sounds like a plan to me. 2010 huh?

  5. Yep, vacationing is essetial. My hubby was born and raised in Alexandria. When we met in 1991, he’d never left the metro area. Huh? WTF? Meanwhile, my parents has started traveling with me when I was a baby.

    I told him that in order to roll with me, he’d better buy a set of luggage. 🙂 His first trip to NY with me to see the fam was like a whole new world. So, in the last 16 years, I’ve gotten him to travel all over the country, and finally last year, we made our first trip outside the US to Bermuda. Now, he’s hooked on traveling.

  6. @TDJ – Everyone I know is like that. All it takes is one place and next thing you know, they wanna travel all the time!!! Glad you let your husband “see the light”

  7. lmao she ain’t say crown heights did she??? BK stand up LOL

    no doubt.. this year I have 3 vacations planned.. one is business related for my pt gig, 2nd is me and the mister and 3rd is me and my girls!!!! then you have the family trips.. but you need your trips for yourself :)!!!

    Next year I’m taking the entire family to St. Kitts.. my kids need to see it..

Leave a Reply

 
