Hip Hop Is Dead…..

I don’t really get into music reviews too much because well everyone’s taste is different. When I read them, I take them with a grain of salt. I feel like I need to judge for myself. And with music, it all depends on the frame of mind that you’re in when you listen. Ever buy a CD and think it sucks and then months later, it’s your favorite? It’s all based on your reference state of mind.

With that being said, I’m a HUGE fan of REAL Hip Hop. I grew up with this shit. Way before CDs and MP3’s, I was going to corner store to buy a cassette tape to put in my boombox and record DJ Red Alert or ChuckChillout or Marley Marl off the radio….Put the tape in…Push the red record button…don’t have the dual tape joints where you can dub your friend’s favorite music

let’s roll outside after I throw on my pinstripe Lee’s and suede Pumas with the fat laces..WHAT?!?!?!?

Somebody get me a cardboard box and let me get busy…..

I digress.

I don’t like 75% of the music out right now and I think that number is being modest. I try listening to it but it just doesn’t appeal to me. I don’t want to snap my fingers or do some silly dance. Not son, it’s not me. Personally, I don’t think artists put any effort into their songs. Creativity isn’t even in their vocabulary. I got guns-I got ice-I got bitches. It’s just blah. So I don’t listen and I damn sure don’t want ShortyRock listening. When she’s in the car, I put on the Disney Channel. I’d much rather her listen and sing some lily white Hannah Montana That’s So Raven Cheetah Girls show tunes than being like the 3 year old in her daycare last year who screamed out “Snap yo fingers bitch” (yes it really happened) or the 5 year old girl who was singing “I was getting some head” (yes that happened too and the parent laughed. go figure.)

Yesterday I bought Nas’ latest CD…Hip Hop Is Dead….and I can honestly say, it is one of the best hip hop CD’s I’ve bought in a while. Better than Kingdom Come (sorry Hov, I’m reppin’ BK but QB got you on this one), better than ummm…..damn….I can’t even remember the last hip hop CD I bought…ummm..Busta…ok, Busta was good but it’s not Nas. Hip Hop is about beats and lyrics and lifestyles

and damnit this dude got all three covered in his joint. I’m gonna stop sweating dude now but let’s just say it’s good.

It’s REAL hip hop. Listen…

Everybody sounds the same/ commercialize the game/ reminiscing when it wasn’t all business /They forgot where it started/ So we all gathered here for the dearly departed…

Hip Hop isn’t dead if cats like him keep making music.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on December 21, 2006.

One Response to “Hip Hop Is Dead…..”

  1. LMAOOO at snap yo fingers bitch. These parents need to understand that they can have better control of what their kids are watching and hearing.
    OK it really is not funny.
    My sever year old neice was doing the ‘dutty whine’ recently in my presence, I just had to snatch her up. Of course her mother thinks it is cute. I warned her, if I ever hear or see her dutty whine again, she in for a whooping.

Leave a Reply

 
