Surburban Thugs

This trips me out all the time…

I live in the suburbs and it amazes me that when I drive through the neighborhood sometimes I see this kids hanging out on the corner. Really it doesn’t bother me one bit cause I used to do the same when I was younger growing up in the city. But what’s funny is I see them acting all hard and shit. They wear their pants damn near at their knees. They give you these looks as you drive by like they own the block.

But when the sun goes down and the street lights come on, these dudes flurry home. They don’t leave the neighborhood and go somewhere else. They don’t pick a bench at the park and go to sleep. They go right down the street to their house. Their nice 4 or 5 bedroom house! I’m telling you it’s the funniest thing.

I try not to question or criticize people without actually getting to know them, but I know one of these so-called thugs parents and when I spoke to him one day and randomly mentioned his son on the corner, his reply was “that lil nigga is hard headed”. (Don’t worry, he’s not a fly by the night parent. He’s a concerned parent. I’ve seen him yank dude off the corner before)

Maybe it’s TV and music they make them want to have a life like that. Maybe it’s the thrill. Maybe it’s because at that age, as a teenager, that’s what a lot of teenage girls migrate to. The bad boy-thug life type of look and appeal. (We won’t even talk about teenage girls on this post) Maybe they just have to live and learn.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on October 27, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
