Scared money don’t make none….

I’m on the phone talking with a good friend of mine about the likes of corporate America and it’s occasional (depending on your situation) blatant disrespect for it’s workers, when the light bulb went off in my head. Some call it an epiphany. Some call it a moment of clarity. It was more like a “what the hell are you doing?” I’ll tell you the exact statement. I said (and I quote) “…man, that’s why you need to start your own business so you can do the pimping instead of being pimped…”

So why did that statement hit me so hard? ‘Cause after saying it, I realized that I talk a good game when it comes to certain things but I never follow course. That’s my downfall in a sense. I have all of these ideas or thoughts or whatever. Things that either I want to or need to do like exercise. I start off but I don’t finish. Work out 6 weeks in a row. All of a sudden, I take a week off for whatever reason then I don’t go back BUT I’ll look at the potbelly and say damn I want a six pack. I rarely finish. It’s like those wack ass dudes that lay down to make a baby but roll out after the sex. –Okay–bad example—.

The next phase to this is trying to figure out what it is that makes me not continue on. Is it fear? Is it lack of motivation? Is it both? I think it depends on the situation. How about comfort? Huh? What about that? How many people won’t do something new because they’re comfortable in their current situation.

Part of the reason is that there’s no accountability. Ask Kenneth Lay (R.I.P) and Enron about accountability. If no one is checking on me, then I don’t have to do it. Get it? I’m not like that at work. I get a project. I get it done. Why? Because my paycheck depends on it. My boss, my company hold me accountable. But when it’s a self -driven project, no one can hold me accountable but MYSELF unless of course I enlist help (which in some cases I know I will. There comes a point where you have to realize what you’re good at and what you suck at.

So there you have it. From here on out, it’s a metamorphosis. I gotta get on the ball AND keep the ball rolling.

Fearless.Accountability.Motivation.

~ by alwaysfunkyfresh on September 7, 2006.

5 Responses to “Scared money don’t make none….”

  1. Being an entrepenuer is a scary venture…One has to make the final decision based on their individual circumstances….Maybe try a little something on the side..see how it does? Avon, Pampered Chef, and others similar where u can set your own pace…These particular companies maybe oversaturated in your area…Research those who have the same premise though…Set your own hours…Simple Commission scale…

    BWDB http://thecwexperience.wordpress.com

  2. You have it wrong – the correct lyrics are “Scared Money Don’t Make Sense”!

  3. Yes, Phil is quite right!

  4. Where did you get the phrase “scared money don’t make none”? Isn’t that in a old school hip-hop song lyric?

  5. Two years later, have you done anything?

Leave a Reply

 
